Search

How to Obtain a Marriage License in Massachusetts & New Hampshire

Check out what we found out about How to obtain a Marriage License in both Massachusetts & New Hampshire.


Massachusetts:

All couples who wish to be married in Massachusetts must have a marriage license issued within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and you do not need to be a residence of the state to get married here. If a person is in the military, a marriage license may be filed by either party, providing one is a Massachusetts resident.


Massachusetts recognizes same sex marriages, however, with legal challenges to the Massachusetts state law, some local jurisdictions may have residency requirements and/or not issue marriage licenses to gay couples. Check with the local authorities to see how they are handling this issue. Both the Bride{s} and Groom{s} must be present a valid drivers license, social security card and possibly a birth certificate when applying. There is a 3 day waiting period before you are issued a marriage license and is valid for 60 days. Check with the town clerk to determine whether you must pick it up in person, or if it can be mailed to you. The fee can range from $25.00 – $100.00, depending on the town.


New Hampshire:

To obtain a marriage license in New Hampshire is slightly different then Massachusetts. Same sex marriages are also legal in New Hampshire and the requirements are the same.The Bride{s} and Groom{s} do not have to be residence of New Hampshire, but must appear at the City or Town Clerk office together. Exceptions may be made for individuals enlisted in the United States military. However, if both the bride{s} and groom{s} are not residents of the City or Town they plan to be married in, their marriage license must be filed with the appropriate clerk in the same town or city the marriage is to take place. If one of the applicants is a resident of New Hampshire, the marriage license must be filed in the same town or city he or she resides in. If both applicants reside in New Hampshire, but in different towns or cities, the marriage license can be filed in either location.


The fee for a marriage license is $45-60 and be prepared to pay for with cash. You may use a drivers license, military card, original/certified birth certificate or a valid passport for identification. However, unlike Massachusetts there is no waiting period for your license, you will receive it immediately but it will not become valid until after 3 days receiving it. A marriage license is only good for three months {90 days} after the issue date.


Serving New Hampshire, Massachusetts and all of New England

603-401-9938

info@inked-events.com

Salem, NH

© 2020 Inked Events, LLC - All Rights Reserved 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest